Weh Revisit, Banda Aceh, Indonesia 9th May~14th May 14

weh collage

This time equipped with my underwater video cam intova, I tried to capture most of the underwater scene possible.
I dived with another dive center Rubiah Tirta at iboih and book an inn near to the dive center. Location wise, it was strategic
Since the Inn very near to ATM machine, mini markets, and local stalls. Compared to the previous place where I stayed at Steffan sea sports,
Iboih has more to offer and convenience.

The inn I stayed called Fina bungalow. Situated behind a dive shop called Iboih Dive Center. Better book with Aircond room cause the one I booked was with Fan. Thought the place would be
Cold at night but it was not. The room was basic and quite spacious minus TV and hot shower.
The walk from Fina to the dive center just about 5mins but you have to climb up and down some stairs and this was
The tiring part. People with knee problem may find it difficult. The Inn do not provide breakfast so the easiest meal I could get for breakfast was to go down
to the local mini mart. In the morning, some of the locals would pack and sell
Locals food and dessert at the store. The main pack breakfast consist of rice with fried fish inside and it was spicy.
So I just grabbed a pack ,some dessert and one cup of aceh’s coffee. The rice pack itself cost IDR13000 , Aceh
Coffee IDR7000. I felt the food there expensive. As for lunch , I would order my lunch with the staff at rubiah tirta.
At night I ate at another local store near to the Inn. There was another seafood restaurant nearby and the food
Quite delicious too.

Scenary at night in front of Fina Bungalow

Scenary at night in front of Fina Bungalow

Rubiah Tirta owned and run by the locals and quite professional with their work. Most of their DM are locals. There are
English speaking instructors freelancing with the Dive center. This trip was handled by a friend of mine so she did all the work
With price negotiations, dives, accommodation, and transportation. All I know I have to prepare around RM900 ex banda Aceh , exclude flight ticket.
All together I finished 10dives. Lucky for me the dive trip was easy without any strong currents. I already calculated that the dive would
Be an easy dives base on the tide charts.
http://www.tides4fishing.com/as/west-indonesia/uleelheue

Scenary around Rubiah

Scenary around Rubiah

I only encountered problems during my dives on the 1st day. I puke almost all 3 dives. Thankful enough
The next 2 days of diving was smooth with no puke at all. My group was 5 divers and Rubiah assigned 2 DM for us. Pak Bebe , the leader and Pak Yusof was the sweeper.
Both of them were soft spoken and well mannered divers. Yusof could find the tiniest nudibranch to the biggest Devil Rays. He always on the look out. While
Pak Bebe always make sure all of us in a group and safe from any harm. I remembered when I dived at the Canyon, I had difficulty to equalize and I stayed at 5m
For a few minutes. Pak Bebe was together with me , while the rest was at the deep together with Yusof.
I have to salute them cause even I dive a lot over in malaysia, only a few dive centers have this kind of professional DM working them.
Only 3 days of diving and the rest of the day was mostly due to the journey itself. Getting from KL to Weh already took 1 whole day, from having the flight
delayed for an hour and nearly missed our ferry to Weh . The same getting back to KL. AirAsia only have once a day flight from KL to banda Aceh so
I have to stay extra nights in order to get 3 days of diving

Last but not least, enjoy the pix and videos from the link below

http://s1151.photobucket.com/user/mydivelogstatus/library/Weh%20Island%20banda%20Aceh%20Indonesia

About mydivelogstatus

love to dive very much
This entry was posted in Diving, snorkeling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

