UPDATING OLD DIVE LOGS PART 2: AUR & DAYANG ISLAND

After we were back from our 1st dive trip to RRR, we came to realize that we missed out a lot of wonderful things of the deep.Back in RRR we were not allowed to go beyond 18m by the DM. It was quite frustrating so this time we decided to pursue Advance OW.We sign up with Planet Scuba for the course and we were told that we will be going to Aur/Dayang Island.
Really I didn’t know such islands ever existed.

We arrived at the mersing jetty around 10pm and waited for the organizer to meet us. A young man at his 30s with long hair introduced himself As our instructor Mr Raja Razis, who will be doing the course for us. Rosli from Planet Scuba also joined the trip. He was assisting a fun diver while we were doing our course. Around 12mid night we get on board a wooden ferry and then we have to wait for other passengers which were mostly Singaporean for a few more hours. I was already sleepy to the max.I remembered the ferry start to move around 1am. The ferry don’t have any aircond and I had to open the side window to get some air and breeze and a some splash of the salty sea. I woke up every hour. I felt the journey was forever until finally I felt the engine stopped.It was still dark outside. Suddenly everyone woke up and heard the organizer told us to move out. We saw the ferry docking at the jetty. We saw at the end of the 100m jetty was small houses with lights and we could even hear the sound of the generator running. Welcome to Dayang Island.
The Mr RR gave us the keys to our rooms and told us that to meet him at 8.30am near the dining hall and we could have our breakfast at 7am.

All the 4 of us (oh yeah I forgot to mentioned there were 4 of us but the ones taking the course was only 3 divers) was very sleepy.I got a room that initially for a quad occupany or dorm and it was very small. Located at the back of the resort facing the hill. There was 2 steel bunkbeds and an attach bathroom. The bathroom was very very small. We could even hear the person in the next room taking a shower. I couldn’t forced myself to sleep. The time was 6am. Might as well wait for breakfast. Finally once the sun breaks out, I could see the wonderful white sandy beach and blue crystal water. In front of Dayang Island is another Island called Aur. Our Resort was facing the Aur’s local fisherman village. I saw school and clinic and a few houses. Most of other customer or should I say divers already woke up early having breakfast and setting up gears. Most of people was Singaporean and I felt so Out of place. After the breakfast we set off for our 1st dive and 1st speciality course peak performance buoyancy and 2nd speciality was multi-level dive. We had a problem with our BCD. We noticed that the BCD inflate automaticly and we had to repeating deflate the BCD. Solution – we snap off the inflator hose when we were underwater but when we about to surface we would clip it on back. Then we back on dayang to learn about navigation. I was totally lost during the training session. I couldn’t understand how to do the calculation, the degrees ,uuuh. All I understand was counting the kicks to estimate point A to point B. After that short and confuse session , we off to a shallow dive site near Aur and did our navigation as our 3rd speacilty course. All ends well and I just cheated my training as if I understand how to read the compass. I know Mr RR know I was cheating but as long as he could see the point of me understanding how the compass operate and getting the sense of direction underwater, I might one day really understand how to read the compass. Just so you know, I did. Now I have already Understand how to read the compass.

The next 4th speciality course was night dive. Our night dive was the same spot we did on the 1st dive. We went there during dusk so it was not that totally dark when we were underwater. Each of us was given a torch. I didn’t feel scary at all but I did hang around really close with my buddy and I didn’t stray far from the group. Most of the things I saw was my group’s fins in front of my face and a few sleeping reef fishes. After the night dive we went to sleep early cause we need a good rest before our deep dive which was the 5th and final course the next day. Our 1st deep dive were at Rayner’s Rock. We went 25m. We were nearly attacked by a crazy trigger fish. The viz was ok. Then we did an extra speciality course which was drift dive thru the channel between dayang and aur. The current was strong and we were bull dozered by some Singaporean divers who were drifted along with us. Amazingly I managed to dodge them by doing backward swim. Something like an upside down roll just like a martial art instructor being chased by an enemy and then corned to a wall. Then run to the wall, jump and turn only to out smart the enemy and connered the enemy instead.After the dive , I remembered getting onto the boat was exhausting. We were on a really strong surface current.

After lunch we packed our gears and get ready for home. The sea was a bit choppy that day. We reached mersing 3 hours after that.

Aur and Dayang Island offer dive sites that range from Open Water till Advance Open Water. Some of the dive sites do look challenging even for Advance Divers. Its common for divers to get drifted apart from their group but rare case such as missing divers been reported. Both islands are famous among singaporeans for a weekend gateway. Its location quite distant from mainland and so if there is any emergency it would take about 1.30hour~2hours by speedboat from the island to the mainland.T

DIVE LOGS:

1ST DIVE SITE: PULAU LANG, AUR/DAYANG ISLAND
DATE: 30TH JUNE 2007
TIME:10.05AM
BOTTOM TIME: 40MIN
DEPTH: 22m
Note: Peak performance bouyancy with drift speciality

2ND DIVE SITE: TELUK TELURAN, AUR ISLAND
DATE: 30TH JUNE 2007
TIME: 1.55PM
BOTTOM TIME: 50MIN
DEPTH: 12.5m
Note: Navigation Speciality

3RD DIVE SITE: CAPTAIN’S POINT, DAYANG ISLAND
DATE: 30TH JUNE 2007
TIME: 4.30PM
BOTTOM TIME: 45MIN
DEPTH: 14.6m
Note: This was only fun dive

4TH DIVE SITE: PULAU LANG, AUR
DATE: 30TH JUNE 2007
TIME:7.30PM
BOTTOM TIME: 35MIN
DEPTH: 8m
Note: Night Dive speciality

5TH DIVE SITE: RAYNER’S ROCK
DATE:1ST JULY 2007
TIME: 7.50AM
BOTTOM TIME: 45MIN
DEPTH: 25m
Note: Deep Dive speciality

6TH DIVE SITE: DAYANG CHANNEL
DATE: 1ST JULY 2007
TIME: 10AM
BOTTOM TIME: 50MIN
DEPTH: 14.6m
Note: Drift dive speciality

I went back to Aur/Dayang the next year in 2008 with scubatex unlimited dive package for 4days3nights. I completed about 14dives in total.
This time the dives was a little core and from there i learned a lot of things. During this dive trip i learned a lot, i learned the hardway how
to get deco and DCS, i learned how to deploy SMB, I learned how to dive in swimtru, I learned how not to get panic when caught in currents,
I learned how to breakway from jellyfish without touching it, i learned how to dive during choppy waters and a few more that i cant recall. i wont
log these trainings in my blog. Enough for readers to know AUR/DAYANG islands an amazing island to dive.

Aur and Dayang Island

About mydivelogstatus

love to dive very much
This entry was posted in Diving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

